Artificial intelligence
in medicine

A research team of KImedi GmbH uses Artificial Intelligence and other digital technologies, such as machine learning, to support medical diagnostics by combining the personal experience of patients with the medical knowledge of doctors. The knowledge gained by KImedi GmbH is incorporated into concrete software projects. Non-invasive methods form the basis of the digital data models which store medical knowledge and thus can shorten the way to the confirmation of the diagnosis.

Products

The app as well as the correspondingbrowser version are intended to provide a quantitative indication in the form of a probability of the presence of a possible, very rare disease and to differentiate it from a chronic or somatoform disease. To this end, patients fill out a questionnaire online on an iPad, the evaluation of which generates diagnostic indications in real time on a remote, data-protected server and displays them on the local iPad. These indications are only visible to authorized medical personnel.

The tool thus supports the physician in his search for the correct diagnosis, especially in the case of diseases that are difficult to diagnose. Typical for these diseases are long latency periods until final confirmation. The name “Short Paths” expresses this and the aim of this tool is to shorten the suffering of patients.

When using the tool in a doctor’s practice, the doctor has the possibility to contact the “colleague computer” via the Internet when the symptoms of a patient are unclear or contradictory.

The  algorithms are based on Data Mining techniques in combination with AI procedures, evaluate the response patterns in the corresponding questionnaires and show the doctor the suspected diagnoses in real time.


Product: iPad APP  ‘q53 plus ki diagnostik’

The app can be downloaded for free from the app store to any iPad version. The app generates diagnostic indications when a rare disease is suspected and differentiates these statements from chronic and somatoform diseases. The statements are only visible to authorized physicians, who must identify themselves via a protected access. Patients receive the appropriate access data from these doctors and fill out a questionnaire online on a iPad. The evaluation is carried out on a data-protected server in real time and is available to the doctor in visualised form. The app is certified as a medical device and comply with all data protection requirements.


Product: Short distances to the diagnosis

This product is a browser-based questionnaire tool for diagnostic support in selected disease groups, which is accessible via an internet address. The tool currently generates diagnostic notes for the following disease groups

  • Genetically induced immunodeficiency
  • Metabolic diseases
  • Neuromuscular diseases
  • Diseases of the respiratory tract
  • Rare diseases
Legend
MD: Muscular dystrophies, myotonies
MP: Pompe disease
SMA: Spinal muscular atrophy
ALS: Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
PNP: Polyneuropathy, HMSN
Other: Other neuromuscular disease
MMN: MMN, MADAM, CIPD
MG: Myasthenia gravis
EKM: Inclusion body myositis

Partners

KÜNSTLICHE INTELLIGENZ
IN DER MEDIZIN

Ein Forscherteam der KImedi GmbH nutzt die Künstliche Intelligenz und weitere digitale Technologien, wie z.B. Data Mining Algorithmen und maschinelles Lernen, zur Unterstützung medizinischer Diagnostik und kombiniert dazu die persönlichen Erfahrungen von Patienten zusammen mit dem medizinischen Wissen von Ärztinnen und Ärzten.
Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse der KImedi GmbH fließen in konkrete Softwareprojekte ein. Dabei bilden nicht-invasive Methoden die Basis der digitalen Datenmodelle, die medizinisches Wissen speichern und somit den Weg bis zur Bestätigung der Diagnose verkürzen können.

Produkte

Die IOS App bzw. die entsprechende Browserversion verfolgen den Zweck, beim Verdacht auf eine möglicherweise vorliegende, sehr seltene Erkrankung einen quantitativen Hinweis in Form einer Wahrscheinlichkeit für das Vorhandensein einer solchen Erkrankung zu geben und gegenüber einer chronischen oder einer somatoformen Erkrankung abzugrenzen. Die Patienten füllen dazu auf einem iPad online einen Fragebogen aus, dessen Auswertung auf einem entfernten, datenrechtlich geschützten Server in Echtzeit diagnostische Hinweise generiert und auf dem lokalen iPad anzeigt. Diese Hinweise sind grundsätzlich nur für berechtigtes, medizinisches Fachpersonal sichtbar.

Damit unterstützt das Tool den Arzt bei seiner Suche nach der korrekten Diagnose vor allem bei schwer zu diagnostizierenden Krankheiten. Typisch für diese Krankheiten sind lange Latenzzeiten bis zur endgültigen Bestätigung. Der Name „Kurze Wege“ drückt dies aus und das Ziel dieses Tools ist es daher, den Leidensweg der Patienten abzukürzen.

Beim Einsatz des Tools in einer Arztpraxis besteht für den Arzt die Möglichkeit, bei unklaren oder sich widersprechenden Symptomen eines Patienten per Internet an den „Kollegen Computer“ zu wenden, der eine große Datenbank sichtet.

Die Algorithmen basieren auf Data Mining Algorithmen in Kombination mit KI Verfahren, werten die Antwortmuster in den entsprechenden Fragebögen aus und zeigen dem Arzt in Echtzeit die Verdachtsdiagnosen an.


Produkt: iPad APP ‚q53plus ki diagnostik‘

Die App kann kostenlos aus dem App Store auf jede iPad-Version heruntergeladen werden. Die App generiert bei Verdacht auf eine  seltene Erkrankung diagnostische Hinweise und differenziert diese Aussagen von chronischen und somatoformen Erkrankungen. Die Aussagen sind nur für autorisierte Ärzte sichtbar, die sich über einen geschützten Zugang identifizieren müssen. Die Patienten erhalten von diesen Ärzten die entsprechenden Zugangsdaten und füllen online auf einem iPad einen Fragebogen aus. Die Auswertung erfolgt in Echtzeit auf einem datengeschützten Server und steht dem Arzt in visualisierter Form zur Verfügung. Die App ist als Medizinprodukt der Risikoklasse I zertifiziert und erfüllt alle datenschutzrechtlichen Anforderungen.

Produkt: Kurze Wege zur Diagnose

Bei diesem Produkt handelt es sich um ein Browser-basiertes Fragebogen-Tool zur diagnostischen Unterstützung bei ausgewählten Krankheitsgruppen, das über eine Internetadresse erreichbar ist. Das Tool generiert diagnostische Hinweise derzeit für folgende Krankheitsgruppen

  • Genetisch bedingte Immunschwäche
  • Stoffwechselerkrankungen
  • Neuromuskuläre Erkrankungen
  • Erkrankungen der Atemwege
  • Seltene Erkrankungen

Legende:

MD: Muskeldystrophien, Myotonien
MP: Morbus Pompe
SMA: Spinale Muskelatrophie
ALS: Amyotrophe Lateralsklerose
PNP: Polyneuropathie, HMSN
Sonstige: Sonstige neuromuskuläre Erkrankung
McArdle: Glykogenose Typ V
MMN: MMN, MADSAM, CIPD
MG: Myasthenia gravis
EKM: Einschlusskörpermyositis

Partner

WordPress Cookie Hinweis von Real Cookie Banner